The Alamo Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – Book Review, Preview

Posted January 24, 2019 by Phyllis Helton in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

The Alamo Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – Book Review, Preview

The Alamo Bride
by Kathleen Y'Barbo


Series: Daughters of the Mayflower #7
Published by Barbour Books
Publication Date February 1, 2019
Genres: Historical Fiction, Action/Adventure, Clean Romance
Setting: Texas Age of Reform - US - 1800 - 1840
Written for: Adults
Pages: 256

Synopsis:

A Series for Lovers of History, Adventure, Romance, and Ancestry

Will Ellis Lose All at the Alamo? Ellis Dumont finds a man in New Orleans Grey unconscious on Dumont property in 1836. As his fevers rage, the man mutters strange things about treasures and war. Either Claiborne Gentry has lost his mind or he’s a spy for the American president—or worse, for the Mexican enemy that threatens their very lives. With the men of her family away, Ellis must stand courageous and decide who she can trust. Will she put her selfish wants ahead of the future of the republic or travel with Clay to Mission San Jose to help end the war?

Join the adventure as the Daughters of the Mayflower series continues with The Alamo Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo.

More in the Daughters of the Mayflower series:The Mayflower Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1620 Atlantic Ocean (February 2018)The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – set 1725 New Orleans (April 2018)The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep – set 1760 during the French and Indian War (June 2018)The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1774 Philadelphia (August 2018)​The Cumberland Bride by Shannon McNear – set 1794 on the Wilderness Road (October 2018)The Liberty Bride by MaryLu Tyndall – set 1814 Baltimore (December 2018)The Alamo Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – set 1836 Texas (February 2019)

 

I would like to thank Barbour Books, Netgalley for giving me this copy of the book. This gift did not influence my opinion or review.

Also in this series: The Mayflower Bride, The Pirate Bride, The Captured Bride, The Patriot Bride, The Cumberland Bride, The Liberty Bride

Goodreads Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository



I was very excited to read this story as I have really enjoyed the others in the series. The history in them along with the adventures and sweet romance. . .

When Ellis discovered Clay, she feared he was dead. Upon discovering he still lived, she and her mother used their knowledge of healing herbs to bring him back to health. I liked the Ellis and Clay. She was very opinionated and determined (read that stubborn) and he was heroic even in his weakened condition.

Some of the scenarios the author created were very funny. Like the time Ellis’ grandfather offered some work to Clay that one of the “laborers” had done. Not too strenuous for a man recovering from multiple gunshot wounds and a concussion. But when I saw who the laborer was, I cracked up. And yes, you’ll have to read the story to find out for yourself who it was and why it was funny. I really appreciate creative stories like this which build those perfect moments – that one single line that is so laugh-out-loud-able but wouldn’t make a lick of sense unless you knew the story. Those lines I’m dying to make a meme out of but that no one would understand (sigh).

Psalm 91 played a prominent role in the story. As a passage Clay had memorized as a child, it was one of the few things he could remember in his amnesia. As he recovered, Ellis read aloud to him from the Psalms. Feathers were used as a symbol of God’s protection throughout.

The Alamo Bride was not quite what I had expected. I had fully anticipated there to be more action surrounding the battles at the Alamo. Very little of the story took place there and very few details about that battle were even mentioned at all.

Though there was some action, it did drag a bit and was more about Clay’s healing and Ellis not being certain if he was friend or foe which got a little repetitious. There were also hints about something in Clay’s past that had motivated his actions and a point when his memory was returning that hinted at more of that past and yet those were never addressed. While I did care for the characters, I was glad the story wasn’t longer.

Readers of historical fiction with a touch of a spiritual overtone might enjoy this. It was a good read, just not great.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply