The Lost Lieutenant by Erica Vetsch – Book Review, Preview

Posted May 19, 2020 by Phyllis Helton in Book Reviews /

Sign up for e-mail notifications of posts

The Lost Lieutenant by Erica Vetsch - Book Review, Preview

The Lost Lieutenant by Erica Vetsch – Book Review, Preview

The Lost Lieutenant

by Erica Vetsch


Series: Serendipity & Secrets #1
Published by Kregel Publications
Publication Date April 21, 2020
Genres: Historical Fiction, Clean Romance, Mystery
Setting: England Regency Era – UK – 1795 – 1837
Written for: Adults
Pages: 304

Synopsis:

He's doing what he can to save the Prince Regent's life . . . but can he save his new marriage as well? Evan Eldridge never meant to be a war hero--he just wanted to fight Napoleon for the future of his country. And he certainly didn't think that saving the life of a peer would mean being made the Earl of Whitelock. But when the life you save is dear to the Prince Regent, things can change in a hurry.
Now Evan has a new title, a manor house in shambles, and a stranger for a bride, all thrust upon him by a grateful ruler. What he doesn't have are all his memories. Traumatized as a result of his wounds and bravery on the battlefield, Evan knows there's something he can't quite remember. It's important, dangerous--and if he doesn't recall it in time, will jeopardize not only his marriage but someone's very life.
Readers who enjoy Julie Klassen, Carolyn Miller, and Kristi Ann Hunter will love diving into this brand-new Regency series filled with suspense, aristocratic struggles, and a firm foundation of faith.

I would like to thank Just Read Publicity Tours for giving me this copy of this book. This gift did not influence my opinion or review.


Purchase Links

Goodreads Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository




Injured in the Peninsular War, Evan suffers from what we now call PSTD. He has memory loss in addition to the nightmares and other symptoms yet fears being relegated to an asylum if these things became known. This son of a humble minister has a kind heart and yet can’t fathom a life that doesn’t use his only skill, sharp-shooting. Thrust into a world of pretense and intrigue, he is so far outside his element he is lost.

I enjoyed getting to know Evan. He is fiercely protective and chivalrous. Despite his inexperience at dealing with the gentry, he knows how to lead. When presented with challenges, he responds with grace and wisdom. I especially loved his method of gaining the laborers needed to repair the broken-down estate he had been awarded!

Diana had been mostly ignored by her father. At least when he wasn’t traumatizing her with threats and violence. Yet she remained gentle and kind. I did enjoy watching her flourish under Evan’s kindness.

The events Evan couldn’t remember haunted him with a sense of importance. And as he attempted to protect his new bride, little did he suspect the secret that linked his enemy with hers.

While classified on Amazon as Christian fiction, there are but a few mentions of God and prayer, mostly Diana questioning His love for her because her prayers are unanswered. She does finally come to believe they are. I would classify this more under the “Inspirational” genre than Christian.

More drama than action, The Lost Lieutenant is an intriguing start to the series and sets the stage nicely for Evan’s friend Marcus’s story which will come next. If you enjoy Regency adventure/suspense, this is an interesting series to consider.

Erica's The Lost Lieutenant Inspiration Pics Pinterest Board

(click here to go directly to the board on Pinterest)
  • Classic style, Classic life, Classic mind
  • Ioan Gruffudd
  • Image 2 of 19: Main Facade
  • Wool-embroidered cotton dress - France, 1805-1810
  • Beautiful lace overlay wedding dress inspired by the regency era. Can also be used as a formal dress for regency ball or special occasion. Photoed in powder blue, other colors can also be made. Working Time:  8-10 weeks Rush Order please inquire prior to order.   Custom Designs We specialize in custom design services.I
  • Young Sean Bean wearing an uniform (Sharpe) : VintageLadyBoners
  • Black Velvet Regency Dress Mourning Regency Gown image 2
  • Asorted Regency gowns – Fashion Through Herstory
  • Green Regency Style Empire Dress with Floral Lace | Joanne
  • Canonteign Manor
  • Belton House Ornate Garden | Belton House HDR Processed Imag… | Flickr
  • Abandoned Manor House in London, England..
  • Appuldurcombe House – Wroxall, England - Atlas Obscura
  • Sutton Scarsdale Hall may be a shadow of its former self, but its impressive ruins leave no doubt that it was once one of the finest stately homes in northern England. Located in Derbyshire, the abandoned mansion was commissioned in 1724 and owned by the Arkwright family for almost 100 years. In 1919 a group of local businessmen asset-stripped the building, selling its grand internal fittings to the highest bidder.
  • Abandoned Manor house in London, England
  • A manor house in England.  It's so hard for me to comprehend how these places are abandoned and left to crumble.
  • FUCKITANDMOVETOBRITAIN
  • Frances OConnor as Fanny Price in Mansfield Park (1999).
  • I got: Fanny Price! Which Of Jane Austen's Heroines Are You
  • Oh, Mr. Knightley!

More Shareables


Tags: , , , ,

To see all current giveaways, go to the Home page and scroll down

For all disclosures and policies visit this link

Purchases via affiliate links help defray the cost of this website. Thank you!

Leave a Reply