The Lost Lieutenant by Erica Vetsch – Book Review, Preview

Posted May 19, 2020 by Phyllis Helton in Book Reviews /

Sign up for e-mail notifications of posts

The Lost Lieutenant by Erica Vetsch - Book Review, Preview

The Lost Lieutenant by Erica Vetsch – Book Review, Preview

The Lost Lieutenant

by Erica Vetsch


Series: Serendipity & Secrets #1
Published by Kregel Publications
Publication Date April 21, 2020
Genres: Historical Fiction, Clean Romance, Mystery
Setting: England Regency Era – UK – 1795 – 1837
Written for: Adults
Pages: 304

Synopsis:

He's doing what he can to save the Prince Regent's life . . . but can he save his new marriage as well? Evan Eldridge never meant to be a war hero--he just wanted to fight Napoleon for the future of his country. And he certainly didn't think that saving the life of a peer would mean being made the Earl of Whitelock. But when the life you save is dear to the Prince Regent, things can change in a hurry.
Now Evan has a new title, a manor house in shambles, and a stranger for a bride, all thrust upon him by a grateful ruler. What he doesn't have are all his memories. Traumatized as a result of his wounds and bravery on the battlefield, Evan knows there's something he can't quite remember. It's important, dangerous--and if he doesn't recall it in time, will jeopardize not only his marriage but someone's very life.
Readers who enjoy Julie Klassen, Carolyn Miller, and Kristi Ann Hunter will love diving into this brand-new Regency series filled with suspense, aristocratic struggles, and a firm foundation of faith.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. This gift did not influence my opinion or review.


Purchase Links

Goodreads Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository




Injured in the Peninsular War, Evan suffers from what we now call PSTD. He has memory loss in addition to the nightmares and other symptoms yet fears being relegated to an asylum if these things became known. This son of a humble minister has a kind heart and yet can’t fathom a life that doesn’t use his only skill, sharp-shooting. Thrust into a world of pretense and intrigue, he is so far outside his element he is lost.

I enjoyed getting to know Evan. He is fiercely protective and chivalrous. Despite his inexperience at dealing with the gentry, he knows how to lead. When presented with challenges, he responds with grace and wisdom. I especially loved his method of gaining the laborers needed to repair the broken-down estate he had been awarded!

Diana had been mostly ignored by her father. At least when he wasn’t traumatizing her with threats and violence. Yet she remained gentle and kind. I did enjoy watching her flourish under Evan’s kindness.

The events Evan couldn’t remember haunted him with a sense of importance. And as he attempted to protect his new bride, little did he suspect the secret that linked his enemy with hers.

While classified on Amazon as Christian fiction, there are but a few mentions of God and prayer, mostly Diana questioning His love for her because her prayers are unanswered. She does finally come to believe they are. I would classify this more under the “Inspirational” genre than Christian.

More drama than action, The Lost Lieutenant is an intriguing start to the series and sets the stage nicely for Evan’s friend Marcus’s story which will come next. If you enjoy Regency adventure/suspense, this is an interesting series to consider.

Erica's The Lost Lieutenant Inspiration Pics Pinterest Board

(click here to go directly to the board on Pinterest) [gs_pinterest user="ericavetsch" board="the-lost-lieutenant-inspiration-pics"]

More Shareables

About Erica Vetsch

Thank you so much for stopping by my online home. I hope you’ll stay long enough to get acquainted. You can find my books, some fun honors and awards, and please don’t forget to sign up for my newsletter!

I love Jesus, history, romance, and sports.

I’m a transplanted Kansan now living in Minnesota, and I’m married to my total opposite and soul mate!

When I’m not writing fiction, I’m planning my next trip to a history museum and cheering on my Kansas Jayhawks and New Zealand All Blacks.

Tags: , , , ,

To see all current giveaways, go to the Home page and scroll down

For all disclosures and policies visit this link

Purchases via affiliate links help defray the cost of this website. Thank you!

Leave a Reply