The Rebel Bride by Shannon McNear – Book Review, Preview

Posted November 26, 2019 by Phyllis Helton in Book Reviews /

Sign up for e-mail notifications of posts

The Rebel Bride by Shannon McNear – Book Review, Preview

The Rebel Bride
by Shannon McNear


Series: Daughters of the Mayflower, #10
Published by Barbour Books
Publication Date December 1, 2019
Genres: Historical Fiction, Christian Fiction, Clean Romance
Setting: Tennesses Civil War Era - US - 1849-1865
Written for: Adults
Pages: 255

Synopsis:

Can Love Form Amidst Tensions of War?

During the clash between Union and Confederacy, quiet Tennessean Pearl MacFarlane is compelled to nurse both Rebel and Yankee wounded who seek refuge at her family’s farm. She is determined to remain unmoved by the Yankee cause—until she faces the silent struggle of Union soldier Joshua Wheeler, a recent amputee. The MacFarlane family fits no stereotype Joshua believed in; still he is desperate to regain his footing—as a soldier, as a man, as a Christian—in the aftermath of his debilitating injury. He will use his time behind enemy lines to gather useful intelligence for the Union—if the courageous Rebel woman will stay out of the line of danger.

Join the adventure as the Daughters of the Mayflower series continues with The Rebel Bride by Shannon McNear.

More in the Daughters of the Mayflower series:The Mayflower Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1620 Atlantic Ocean (February 2018)The Pirate Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – set 1725 New Orleans (April 2018)The Captured Bride by Michelle Griep – set 1760 during the French and Indian War (June 2018)The Patriot Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1774 Philadelphia (August 2018)​The Cumberland Bride by Shannon McNear – set 1794 on the Wilderness Road (October 2018)The Liberty Bride by MaryLu Tyndall – set 1814 Baltimore (December 2018)The Alamo Bride by Kathleen Y’Barbo – set 1836 Texas (February 2019)The Golden Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1849 San Francisco (April 2019)The Express Bride by Kimberley Woodhouse – set 1860 Utah (July 2019)  

I would like to thank Shannon McNear for giving me this copy of the book. This gift did not influence my opinion or review.

Also in this series: The Mayflower Bride, The Pirate Bride, The Captured Bride, The Patriot Bride, The Cumberland Bride, The Liberty Bride, The Alamo Bride

Goodreads Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository



Wow! Shannon McNear taught me so much about the Civil War in this story, though it only encompassed several months of that terrible time in history. As I read the introduction and the author’s thoughts about writing this story, how she selected a middle-class family instead of one living on a plantation, how the issues leading up to the war went so much deeper than slavery, and especially how she had never even wanted to write a story about this terrible war, I knew that this was going to be an amazing book.

I tend to shy away from books about the Civil War. For some reason, I always think of this war as being far more horrendous than any other. So when I heard that the author of The Cumberland Bride, which I loved, was writing one set in this era, I cringed and debated about whether I should read it. Truely, if I had not already read The Cumberland Bride, I would have passed on The Rebel Bride.

From the very start, I was enthralled!

When Pearl’s cousin delivered a wagon full of Yankees for her to convalesce at her house, she was appalled. Not just at the work, which she was untrained for, or the lack of provisions to feed them, or even the fact she would have to give up her bedroom and sleep in the attic. The very thought of harboring the enemy grated on her every nerve!

Oh, how I loved Pearl’s Pa! His wisdom as he exhorted her with Scripture blessed me.

 

Therefore “If your enemy is hungry, feed him; If he is thirsty, give him a drink; For in so doing you will heap coals of fire on his head.” Romans 12:20

Pearl learned so much about how to follow Christ, especially when it wasn’t easy. Her care of the enemy, even if at first her motivation was simply heaping those coals of fire, was pretty amazing.

Josh was one of those enemy soldiers needing care. In fact, he wasn’t even conscious for days after he arrived. The injury he sustained was terrible, yet he adapted. And then began to help the best he could. I loved his very protective nature and the strength of character he exhibited.

Clem, Pearl’s younger brother and the only one who survived the war, was written so well! This young boy appeared to be simply avoiding the work needed around the house. Yet when I found out what this industrious lad was up to … my, my!

 

Rich descriptions made me feel like I was there, crawling through blackberry bushes, seeing Missionary Ridge, hearing the sounds of battle, feeling the frigid creek, smelling the odors of the house-turned-hospital. I quaked in fear, grieved at the loss, questioned which side was right, rejoiced over the unexpected miracle, and hoped for peace.

Readers who love history will love this story and won’t want to miss it!

Shannon's The Rebel Bride Pinterest Board

(click here to go directly to the board on Pinterest)
  • Confederate Soldiers, 1861 Photograph - A great variation of an iconic 1859 image !
  • Can a quiet Tennessee hill girl help a wounded Yankee soldier face his worst fear—not dying for his convictions, but becoming a useless casualty as a result of the fight?
  • My mission statement for this story ...
  • William Montgomery
  • ca. 1864, [21st Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, Company D at Lookout Mountain in Tennessee]  via the Wisconsin Historical Society
  • This vintage Civil War print features Union soldiers, posing and holding the American flag, on the summit of Lookout Mountain.
  • Lost Chattanooga: Underground Chattanooga Uncovered — Chattanooga History in Photos
  • Lookout Mountain St. Elmo view
  • Civil War encampment at Rock City, near Chattanooga.
  • Chief John Ross House - Rossville, GA
  • heritage park chattanooga tn - Bing
  • heritage park chattanooga tn - Bing
  • "In their eyes and the eyes of their loved ones, I could see the full range of human emotion."
  • Three Yankee hotties
  • What the Hell Were They Fighting For? -The... - The Civil War Parlor
  • Soldier of the American Civil War
  • Union soldier from the Civil War

More Shareables

About Shannon McNear

After more than two decades in the South, Shannon McNear now makes her home on the windy northern plains with her husband, four of their eight children, two German Shepherds, three cats, several chickens, and a noisy flock of guinea fowl. She serves in worship and youth ministry, and has been writing novel-length fiction since age 15. Her first novella, Defending Truth, from A Pioneer Christmas Collection, was a 2014 RITA® nominee. She’s a member of ACFW and RWA and is represented by Tamela Hancock Murray of the Steve Laube Agency. When not sewing, researching, or leaking story from her fingertips, she enjoys being outdoors, basking in the beauty of the Dakota prairies.

Tags: , ,

To see all current giveaways, go to the Home page and scroll down

For all disclosures and policies visit this link

Purchases via affiliate links help defray the cost of this website. Thank you!

3 responses to “The Rebel Bride by Shannon McNear – Book Review, Preview

  1. Alicia Haney

    This book sounds intriguing and like a very good read. Thank you so much for sharing about it. I would love to read it.

  2. shannonmcnear

    Thank you, thank you!! I’m beyond delighted that you enjoyed the book so much–and for the review and share of my Pinterest board! ❤

Leave a Reply