Isaiah’s Daughter by Mesu Andrews – Book Review, Preview

Posted November 19, 2019 by Phyllis Helton in Best of the Year, Book Reviews /

Sign up for e-mail notifications of posts

A new believer I know asked me to help her find verses about faith.

As I thought about how to respond, I realized that reading a verse that says “have faith” isn’t what helps faith to grow. Here is how I responded.

I can tell you over and over to trust me, yet if my actions are not trustworthy, will my words change anything? Likewise, reading how I should trust God isn’t going to automatically make me do that. I have to know He is trustworthy.

How do I get to know that?

When you read through the Biblical accounts, look to see what it tells you about God’s character. What promises has He made? Were those promises kept? How did Jesus treat those around Him?

The woman caught in adultery.

The tax collectors and prostitutes.

The everyday people who were hungry and sick.

The religious leaders.

In the Old Testament, while there are many times we see God’s people under attack by their enemies or in exile or in famine, each time it was as a direct result of their disobedience. In every instance, they had been warned ahead of time. Warned of punishment and encouraged by the hope of restoration when they repented.

We repeatedly see God’s faithfulness and that He keeps His promises. The more I am reminded of how He has done that in the past, the more I can be confident that He will continue to be faithful in the future!

How have you seen God’s faithfulness in your life?

Isaiah’s Daughter by Mesu Andrews – Book Review, Preview

Isaiah's Daughter
by Mesu Andrews


Series: Prophets and Kings #1
Published by Waterbrook Press
Publication Date January 16, 2018
Genres: Biblical Fiction, Historical Fiction, Christian Fiction, Clean Romance
Setting: Israel 732 - 539 BC
Written for: Adults
Pages: 381

Synopsis:

In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah's household rises to capture the heart of the future king.   Isaiah adopts Ishma, giving her a new name--Zibah, delight of the Lord--thereby ensuring her royal pedigree. Ishma came to the prophet's home, devastated after watching her family destroyed and living as a captive. But as the years pass, Zibah's lively spirit wins Prince Hezekiah's favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man will awake in her all the fears and pain of her past and she must turn to the only One who can give life, calm her fears, and deliver a nation.

I would like to thank Amazon for giving me this copy of the book. This gift did not influence my opinion or review.

Goodreads Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository



An incredibly tender and thoughtful account! This is one of the best stories I have ever read.

The friendship between Hezi and Ishma tugged at my heart from the first moment, when God used each of them to heal deep wounds in the other’s soul. As their friendship became iron sharpening iron under the tutelage of Isaiah, and as it grew from friendship to love, my heart sang. And as they experienced their first major rift, I was gripped with pain for them, hoping for a resolution that would come quickly.

Isaiah’s Daughter tells the story of a king who reigned during a time of great upheaval and fear, ushered in by a father who rejected the Lord and turned to idols. Hezekiah and Ishma struggled with trusting the Lord and had to learn how to search the Scriptures they had to remember God’s faithfulness. The lessons were quite profound and beautifully illustrated.

I have always cheered and admired Hezekiah for his righteous stand for the Lord. How he boldly restored the Temple after its countless years of use for pagan worship. Led Judah and Israel in celebrating the Passover after centuries of neglect. Destroyed the high places where idols were worshipped. I had never considered, though, how hard that would have been; going against everything he had known. The contrast between Hezekiah and his idolatrous father who angered the Lord is so marked and author Mesu Andrews presents a plausible reason for this.

Isaiah and his prophecies were presented in an astounding manner. Do you read his prophecies and think about him as a confident and brave man, standing against the whims of kings and nations as I have? And imagine how after his vision of the seraphim at the throne of God he would have boldness the rest of his life? Being human, as we are, of course he had his moments of doubt. The author shows this conflict between his faith and faltering as well as confusion over the messages he was called to deliver. When would they be fulfilled? What did they mean? Were they for now or the future? I loved reading and thinking about these things and questioning what it would have been like for him.

One of the most interesting concepts in the book was Isaiah’s thoughts on the prophecies about the coming Son of David, the Root of Jesse who would usher His people into peace and forgiveness. Again, it was something that never occurred to me, yet it makes perfect sense and fascinated me.

I will never again read these portions of the Scriptures the same way! While I understand that this story is the author’s interpretation and partly her imagination, the events of multiple books of the Bible have been combined realistically and compellingly, making me consider hopes, fears, and motivations in a way I never have before.

Isaiah’s Daughter is my favorite of Mesu Andrews’ books so far. I am so excited to read Isaiah’s Legacy now and will most likely squeeze it in long before I am supposed to!!

If you have ever struggled through understanding the prophecies of Isaiah or understanding the events of Judah’s kings, this amazing story will help bring history to life for you. I strongly encourage all lovers of Biblical fiction to read it as well!

Mesu's Isaiah's Daughter Pinterest Board

(click here to go directly to the board on Pinterest)
  • Authorgraph from Mesu Andrews for "Isaiah's Daughter"  Did you know I can "sign" your ebooks? Check out any of my "BOOKS" pages on my website and scroll down to the Authorgraph button! www.mesuandrews.com
  • Surely, he took up our pain and bore our suffering, yet we considered him punished by God, stricken by him and afflicted... The punishment that brought us peace was on him, and by his wounds we are healed. Isaiah 53:4-5  #messiah #prophecy #Isaiah #IsaiahsDaughter #biblicalnovel #MesuAndrews
  • Sign up for @mesuandrews' bi-weekly news and get exclusive content, sneak peeks at the writing life, and a free novella. Subscribe and get His Unfathomable Plan – Prelude to Isaiah’s Daughter – 4 Minor Characters Who Majorly Shaped King Hezekiah today!
  • Sign up for @mesuandrews' bi-weekly news and get exclusive content, sneak peeks at the writing life, and a free novella. Subscribe and get His Unfathomable Plan – Prelude to Isaiah’s Daughter – 4 Minor Characters Who Majorly Shaped King Hezekiah today!
  • Apply for Mesu Andrews' ISAIAH'S DAUGHTER Launch Team - WaterBrook & Multnomah
  • View the Great Isaiah Scroll
  • Archaeologists have discovered a stone toilet (pictured) in a shrine hidden within the city gate at the ruins of the city of Tel Lachish in Israel. It is thought to have been installed as part of a crackdown on religious cults by King Hezekiah
  • TEL LACHISH, Israel – Archaeologists digging out the ruins of an enormous ancient gate in Israel have discovered evidence that confirms one of the Old Testament’s historical accounts of King Hezekiah. In January of this year, archaeologists began an archaeological excavation in Tel Lachish National Park, which is located in central Israel about 25 miles…
  • Assyrian warriors empaling jewish prisoners after conquering the Jewish fortress Lachish (battle 701 BCE). Part of a relief from the palace of Sennacherib at Niniveh, Mesopotamia (Iraq)
  • As testimony to Jerusalem's rich and ancient Jewish history, a Biblical-era royal seal belonging to King Hezekiah, son of Ahaz, was found in Jerusalem's Old City.
  • HEZEKIAH’S TUNNEL. For more than a hundred years, an extraordinary water tunnel in Jerusalem has been attributed to King Hezekiah, who dug it to protect the city’s water supply during the Assyrian siege of 701 B.C.E. Hence its name, Hezekiah’s Tunnel. However, recent scholarly publications now argue that the tunnel was not built by Hezekiah but by his predecessor or his successors. For more, click on the link. Photo: Hershel Shanks.
  • Hezekiah's Tunnel: Discovered in 1880, this tunnel connects Gihon spring to the Pool of Siloam in East Jerusalem and is the "conduit" mentioned in 2 Kings 20:20 confirming the validity of the passage.
  • Jerusalem in Hezekiah's Tunnel | 1105-5613 v3 Hezekiah's Tunnel
  • jericho, israel ✨                                                                                                                                                                                 More
  • The orphan/captive Ishma could have looked like any one of these little girls - heart-breaking!
  • This is how I visualized Isaiah as I wrote about him. Kind but a near-the-surface hard edge...
  • Side view portrait of happy teenager leaning on table outdoors  **This is how I envisioned young Zibah. A natural beauty.

More Shareables

About Mesu Andrews

Mesu Andrews’ deep understanding of and love for God’s Word brings the biblical world alive through her bestselling novels. She and her husband, Roy, live in a log cabin snuggled into the beautiful Appalachian Mountains with their dog, Zeke. The Andrews’ have two married daughters and a small tribe of grandkids. Mesu loves movies, football, waterfalls, and travel.

Her first novel, Love Amid the Ashes (Revell, 2011, the story of Job) won the 2012 ECPA Book of the Year for a Debut Author. Love’s Sacred Song (Revell, 2012) relates the poetic Song of Solomon in story form, and Love in a Broken Vessel (Revell, 2013) sets the story of Hosea and Gomer in biblical Israel. The Shadow of Jezebel (Revell, 2014) displays God’s sovereignty over Jezebel’s daughter, Queen Athaliah. The Pharaoh’s Daughter (Waterbrook/Multnomah, 2015), unveils Moses’ early years and Miriam (Waterbrook/Multnomah, 2016) introduces Yahweh’s prophetess during the ten plagues and the Exodus. Isaiah’s Daughter (Waterbrook/Multnomah) introduces readers to the prophet Isaiah’s captivating daughter. To follow Yahweh’s progression toward the Messiah, By the Waters of Babylon (August 2018) continues the story of the prophets and kings through the exile, and Of Fire and Lions (Waterbrook/Multnomah 2019) tells Daniel’s compelling story.

Tags: , , , ,

To see all current giveaways, go to the Home page and scroll down

For all disclosures and policies visit this link

Purchases via affiliate links help defray the cost of this website. Thank you!

Leave a Reply