Kingdom of Feathers by Deborah Grace White – Book Review

Posted November 16, 2021 by Phyllis Helton in Book Reviews /

Sign up for e-mail notifications of posts

Kingdom of Feathers by Deborah Grace White – Book Review

Kingdom of Feathers: A Retelling of The Wild Swans

by Deborah Grace White

Series: The Kingdom Tales #4
Series Rating:
Published by Luminant Publications
Publication Date November 12, 2021
Genres: Action/Adventure, Fantasy, Young Adult, Clean Romance, Fairy Tale Retelling
Main Character Ages: 18-24, 15-18
Written for: High-School/Young Adult, Middle School
Pages: 471


A prince who’s king too soon, a princess determined never to be queen—two kingdoms at war

Princess Wren is not the crown princess. Everyone else might think her six older brothers are dead, but she knows the truth. They’re very much alive, and her oldest brother will absolutely assume the throne. Once he becomes a little less feathered…and beaky. The trouble is, that requires Wren to fulfill the terms of the curse that transformed her brothers into swans—which means she can’t speak a word to a living soul.

For six years.

Prince Basil wants to become king at eighteen about as much as he wants to inherit the war that’s burdened his kingdom for six long years. With the death of his father, he’s determined to ignore all advice and reach out to their enemies for an armistice. Even if there’s no one to negotiate with except the kingdom’s silent, timid crown princess. After all, there must be more to her than meets the eye…otherwise the dragons Basil regards as friends wouldn’t take such an interest in her.

But other forces are at work, ones with no desire to see the war end. If Wren and Basil want to save their people from further loss, they’ll have to learn to trust each other. Because the only way to uncover their true enemies might be to embrace the ones they thought they knew.

Kingdom of Feathers is the fourth installment in The Kingdom Tales, a series of interconnected standalone novels set on the continent of Solstice, where dragons do their own thing, enchanters run amok, and happily ever afters require some chasing. If you enjoy strong heroines, clean romance, and fantasy worlds with a dash of intrigue, discover the world of The Kingdom Tales today.

I received a complimentary copy of this book. This gift did not influence my opinion or review.

Also in this series: Kingdom of Beauty, Kingdom of Slumber: A Retelling of Sleeping Beauty , Kingdom of Cinders: A Retelling of Cinderella, Kingdom of Locks: A Retelling of Rapunzel, Kingdom of Dance

Purchase Links

Goodreads Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository

Looking back, I was amazed when I realized Deborah Grace White only published her first book last year! The quality of her writing far surpasses that of many authors who have been writing much longer.

Wren and Basil’s story captivated me from the very beginning. I vividly pictured the moment the unknown old woman cast the spell on Wren’s brothers. And felt her grief so deeply! I can’t even imagine how I would survive knowing that the littlest sound I made could cause harm to those I love and keep them trapped as swans forever!

I especially loved how Basil was the only one who truly saw Wren and heard her even when she was unable to make a sound.

Kingdom of Swans is a delightful adventure, which I highly recommend. It is age-appropriate and free of foul language, sexual situations, and violence.

More Shareables

About Deborah Grace White

I’ve been a reader since I can remember, growing up on a wide range of books, from classic literature to light-hearted romps. The love of reading has traveled with me unchanged across multiple continents, and carried me from my own childhood all the way to having children of my own.

But if reading is like looking through a window into a magical and beautiful world, beginning to write my own stories was like discovering that I could open that window and climb right out into fantasyland.

I cannot believe how privileged I am to actually be living that childhood dream and publishing my own novels. I do so from my hometown of Adelaide, Australia, where I live with my husband and our two, soon to be three, little munchkins.

I’ve never outgrown my love of young adult stories, and my first series, The Kyona Chronicles, is a young adult fantasy series of four novels and two novellas.

Tags: , , ,

To see all current giveaways, go to the Home page and scroll down

For all disclosures and policies visit this link

Purchases via affiliate links help defray the cost of this website. Thank you!