Of Fire and Lions by Mesu Andrews – Spotlight, Excerpt, Bonuses

Posted February 19, 2019 by Phyllis Helton in Book Spotlight, Excerpts, Free Book Offer /

Sign up for e-mail notifications of posts

I’ve been so excited since I’ve heard about Of Fire and Lions by Mesu Andrews! Mesu has written some amazing Biblical fiction. Today I want to share a bit from the first chapter and let you know about some very special deals available to you.

First, here are the details about the book

Of Fire and Lions by Mesu Andrews – Spotlight, Excerpt, Bonuses

Of Fire and Lions

by Mesu Andrews

Publication Date March 5, 2019
Genres: Biblical Fiction
Setting: Babylon 732 - 539 BC
Written for: Adults
Pages: 400

Synopsis:

The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for readers of Lynn Austin's Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers' Mark of the Lion series.

Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nearly seventy years ago as the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. She thought she'd perfected in the many years amongst the Magoi and the idol worshippers, pretending with all the others in King Nebuchadnezzar's court. Now, as Daniel's wife and a septuagenarian matriarch, Belili thinks she's safe and she can live out her days in Babylon without fear--until the night Daniel is escorted to Belshazzar's palace to interpret mysterious handwriting on a wall. The Persian Army invades, and Bellili's tightly-wound secrets unfurl with the arrival of the conquering army. What will the reign of Darius mean for Daniel, a man who prays to Yahweh alone?      Ultimately, Yahweh's sovereign hand guides Jerusalem's captives, and the frightened Hebrew girl is transformed into a confident woman, who realizes her need of the God who conquers both fire and lions.

Goodreads Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository



Excerpt

Chapter 1

I’d never seen a sesame seed grow until I came to Babylon almost seventy years ago. At harvest time my husband, Daniel, looks to the tiny seed as cause for great celebration. How inconsequential is a miniscule seed? How incomprehensible its yield? How unbearable the process of growth? A seed is buried. It dies. Then sprouts. And grows. It blossoms. Dries and dies again to be plucked up and used for the purpose of its planting. My husband’s purpose in celebration was to mark the passing of years toward prophecy’s fulfillment—now just futile poetry. But it caused me to remember things I’d rather forget.

It was a day I dreaded all year long.

I picked up my polished-bronze mirror and tucked a stray tendril of gray curls beneath my new linen head scarf, noting in the reflection his fidgeting behind me. He always had trouble tying a jeweled belt, but his fingers seemed more trembly this morning. Was he nervous too?

I set aside my mirror and crossed the bedchamber, nudging his hands aside. “Let me do it.” Though both his hands and mine were spotted with age and lined with bulging blue veins, at least mine were still nimble.

He cradled my head and placed a kiss on my forehead. “Thank you, love. What would I do without you?”

I finished the knot and gazed into his rheumy eyes, as smitten as I’d been sixty-six years ago. “Let’s hope you never find out.” I laced my arm through his. “Let’s go downstairs. The children are waiting.”

He opened our chamber door, and lively family sounds floated up from the courtyard below. We descended the stairs slowly since Daniel’s feet pained him. Waiting in our lush green courtyard were three generations of our descendants seated around four long rectangular tables. Four daughters with their husbands. Twenty-one grandchildren. And thirty-two greats.

Two conscientious grandsons met their saba Daniel at the bottom of the steps, one supporting each elbow. I was left to follow—alone. The snubbing had begun.

Now about the bonuses.

Mesu has written a couple of short stories to go along with the book, and she is offering them at no charge! The first is written about Daniel from the perspective of his mother and the second is about Nebuchadnezer from the perspective of his wife!  How cool is that!!

Daniel – My Abba, My Hero

  • To read about the book, click here
  • To download the book, click here

Nebuchadnezzar–My Power, My World

  • To read about the book, click here
  • To download the book, click here

I strongly urge you to sign up for Mesu’s newsletter while you are on her blog. The newsletters share her heart and some of the nuggets she has found as she researches for her books.

The final bonus is this. If you pre-order (I would be grateful if you use one of the links above to do that!), then you can click on the banner below, fill out their form and select one of Mesu’s other full-length books for free.

About Mesu Andrews

Mesu Andrews’ deep understanding of and love for God’s Word brings the biblical world alive through her bestselling novels. She and her husband, Roy, live in a log cabin snuggled into the beautiful Appalachian Mountains with their dog, Zeke. The Andrews’ have two married daughters and a small tribe of grandkids. Mesu loves movies, football, waterfalls, and travel.

Her first novel, Love Amid the Ashes (Revell, 2011, the story of Job) won the 2012 ECPA Book of the Year for a Debut Author. Love’s Sacred Song (Revell, 2012) relates the poetic Song of Solomon in story form, and Love in a Broken Vessel (Revell, 2013) sets the story of Hosea and Gomer in biblical Israel. The Shadow of Jezebel (Revell, 2014) displays God’s sovereignty over Jezebel’s daughter, Queen Athaliah. The Pharaoh’s Daughter (Waterbrook/Multnomah, 2015), unveils Moses’ early years and Miriam (Waterbrook/Multnomah, 2016) introduces Yahweh’s prophetess during the ten plagues and the Exodus. Isaiah’s Daughter (Waterbrook/Multnomah) introduces readers to the prophet Isaiah’s captivating daughter. To follow Yahweh’s progression toward the Messiah, By the Waters of Babylon (August 2018) continues the story of the prophets and kings through the exile, and Of Fire and Lions (Waterbrook/Multnomah 2019) tells Daniel’s compelling story.

Tags:

To see all current giveaways, go to the Home page and scroll down

For all disclosures and policies visit this link

Purchases via affiliate links help defray the cost of this website. Thank you!

One response to “Of Fire and Lions by Mesu Andrews – Spotlight, Excerpt, Bonuses

Leave a Reply